New Feed for my Fur Babies

Have any of you horse people ever heard of Total Equine? I have always fed 12% feed to my horses twice a day with good quality grass hay. Recently, I purchased Brandi from a kill lot. She was skinny, her hooves were in bad shape and her coat was dull. The mare that I have had for several years, Jetta, didn’t have a weight problem or bad coat but she did seem slightly lazy and had kind of a bad attitude. We all know mares. I assumed her  attitude probably had to do with her gender.

After getting Brandi to healthy weight I sent her to the trainer for retraining. Since she was off the track she would need to be trained for western cues. While she was at the trainer for 30 days he fed her Total Equine. I had heard of the feed but kind of brushed it off. Some of my friends used it and talked about how much they liked it but like I said before, I have always used 12% sweet feed. I grew up around horses so all of my life, 32 years, I have used sweet feed. When Brandi came back she looked even better than she had when I sent her!

According to Total Equine’s site they have been selling it for 17 years. They based their formula on 40 years of scientific research and the finding of what horses actually needed to thrive. It states that it maximizes health, attitude and performance. The base of the feed is Alfalfa which makes the feed more appealing to horses. It provides 70% to 80% of the needed fiber (totalfeeds.com). The daily ration is four pounds. I was feeding so much more of sweet feed daily!

After doing some research of my own and talking with some friends I decided to become part of the Total Equine family. I went to our local Total Equine dealer, Better Equine, and purchased some of the feed. I have been feeding both horses and a rescue pony who needed to have weight put on as well Total Equine twice a day. Brandi has now been on Total Equine for six weeks and Jetta and the Pony, Dusty, for almost two weeks.

Brandi continues to improve daily. Jetta and Dusty are already showing improvements! I know that two weeks is a short period of time to already notice improvements but they are consuming less hay, their coats already look better and the best improvement with Jetta is her mood. She has always been a sweet mare but would act kind of marish and a little pissy if I asked her to do something she didn’t really want to do. She would always do it without much of a fuss but you could tell she wasn’t happy about it. I have been so pleased the last few times I’ve ridden her because she seems to be in a better mood.

I can’t say enough good things about Total Equine! I have already seen so many positive changes in such a short amount of time that I am a “Total Believer”. I am so excited to see what the future holds for my horses as we continue our new journey with this wonderful feed. Total Feeds also carries a line of feed for many other animals such as dogs, birds, deer, goats, and more, If you haven’t tried it. Give it a shot, you won’t regret it!

 

Leave a Reply

